Use different roles to control what people can do and access inside your account.

What are roles and permissions?

In your account, a person has a role. This is a global role, so is the same across all projects in the account.

A role contains a group of specific permissions, which determine what a person can do in the app.

Depending on which plan you're on, you can use default roles or have access to custom roles too.

Default and custom roles

All GatherContent accounts start with 3 default roles which you can give your team:

Feel free to use these one-size-fits-all roles for your team.

If you're on a subscription that supports more than the default roles (see here), you can create custom roles which are essentially your own template of permissions.

You may notice one other role that exists - Account Owner. This role is a 'master' role, so cannot be edited. Only one person can be the account owner of an account. Find out more on how to change your account owner here.

Customising role permissions

You can customise all default roles, and build your own custom roles with unique permissions.

You can do this from the People & Groups page, on the Roles & Permissions tab. Click any role to edit and customise the permissions.

It's important to be aware of:

Administration

  • Access to all projects
  • Edit Account Settings - ability to edit subscription and close account

Content

  • Access all items within a project - can be used to control visibility. If this is not ticked, the user can only see the items they're assigned to
  • Edit item structures and manage templates - this can be destructive. Applying templates over items that contain content removes the content. Also, deleting fields that contain content from items removes the content.

More role examples

We've put together some different role examples you could use inside your account.

Access to Projects

If a user doesn't have by default access to all projects (the permission on their role, Access all Projects), then access can be given to projects individually.

This can be done from the People & Groups page, by selecting the person's profile from inside a group. At the bottom, you'll see a list of projects where you can choose which the person should have access to.

Here's more on setting project access for your team.

Did this answer your question?