This article explains what a role is, and what each permission within a role allows a user to do. It also shows you how to edit role permissions and answers frequently asked questions.

Every person in your GatherContent account has a role applied to them. This role controls what users can do in your GatherContent account.  

Depending on which plan you're on, you can use default roles or have access to custom roles too. You can also create as many of your own roles as you need and can tailor them to meet your needs using a range of permissions.

View and edit existing role permissions

Here's how you can see the roles that your account currently has:

If you're on a subscription that supports more than the default roles, you can create custom roles that are essentially your own template of permissions.

  • Open People and Groups. This is found under the drop-down from your avatar at the top right of your account

  • Select the Roles & Permissions Tab. Here you can see the roles you currently have in your account and a short description of each role (the 3 roles below are our default roles). Click on each role to see what permissions that role has.

  • Edit the selected permissions and save the role to update it.

Tip: Not sure what the permissions mean? Check the list below,👇

You may notice one other role that exists - Account Owner. This role is a 'master' role, so cannot be edited. Only one person can be the account owner of an account. Find out more about how to change your account owner here.

Create a new role

In the top right of the 'Roles & permissions' tab, you'll see a button labelled 'Create new role'. Click on this and select the permissions you want to apply to the role.

Understanding permissions

The table below provides a breakdown of all the permissions you can select for a role on GatherContent, and what they allow your user to do.

Permission

Access granted

Access all projects

Ability to access all projects in your GatherContent account.

Access account settings

Ability to access and edit all account settings - with the exception of changing account owner.

Create projects

Permissions to create, archive, or delete a project.

Change Billing & Subscription

Ability to update billing details, view invoices, and change account plan.

Receive product updates via email

You can opt-in or out your users on the GatherContent product updates.

Access all items

Ability to view and access all Items in projects they have access to.

Create items

Ability to add, archive, and delete Items. They can also restore archived Items.

Create templates

Permissions to add and edit the structure to Items. Permission to create, edit, import, duplicate templates.

Edit Workflow

Permissions to view and edit project workflow.

Assign items

Permissions to add and remove assignees from Items.

Set due dates

Ability to add, change, and remove workflow due dates.

Update workflow status

Permissions to change the workflow status of Items.

Leave comments

Permission to comment on any Item user has access to.

Edit content

Ability to write, edit, and remove content from any Item the user can access, which is not in a 'read-only' workflow stage.

Export content

Permissions to export content as Word or PDF documents.

Access the content map

The user with this permission can access the content map tab in every project they have access to.

Access files

Permissions to access the files library tab and to download files for all projects they can access.

Manage users

Ability to invite users and remove them from the GatherContent account. Can also choose user permissions and which projects users have access to.

Manage roles and permissions

Possibly the most important permission! Ability to edit user permissions, including their own permissions. Use appropriately.

Access to Projects

If a user doesn't have by default access to all projects (the permission on their role, Access all Projects), then access can be given to projects individually.

This can be done from the Team members tab in the People & Groups page, by selecting the person's profile from inside a group. Click the projects dropdown and select which projects that person should have access to.

Permissions FAQs

  • How do I set the permissions to get a 'read-only' user?

Create a role with no permissions selected. Remember to assign this user to the items they need access to.

  • How do I set the permissions so that a user can only access what they've been assigned to?

Ensure that the role does not have the 'Access all items' permission selected: Remember to assign this user to the items they need access to.

  • Can admin users turn off 2FA (two-factor authentication) for other users in GatherContent?

No, 2FA (two-factor authentication) can only be turned off by the user.

  • I need my colleague to be able to download invoices for our accounting team. How can they do this?

Ensure that the role does have the 'Change billing & subscription' permission set.

Did this answer your question?