Learn how to use People and Groups, this guide includes:

Overview of Team Members

In the team members view you'll find the following lists:

  1. A full list of 'All users'

  2. A list of users 'Pending invite' (e.g. users who have been sent an invitation to join your account to be assigned to projects/items but have not yet responded)

  3. A list of 'Guest users' (e.g. users who have created a guest account to view shareable links but are restricted from accessing your accounts other projects/items)

Here you can easily manage your user groups, manage your users individually or in bulk, and invite new users to join your account. đź‘Ť

Using Roles and Permissions to create custom roles

A role is a set of permissions, that can be applied to multiple people or an individual user. The role applied will determine things like, whether people can write content, edit item structure, or see only the items they have been assigned to or see everything inside a project they have access to.

You'll begin with some default roles but can go ahead and create as many custom roles as you need before you invite people to join your account:

First, select 'create new role' and then choose your permissions to fully customise it.

Inviting people to your account

Tip: You can invite as many users to your account as you need. All of our plans now come with unlimited users.

You can invite people to your account from the People & Groups area by clicking the invite button:

Before you start adding people to your GatherContent account, their role should be created first, as you need to apply this when sending the invite. 

Those invited will receive an email with an invite link inside that expires after 7 days. When they click the invite link, they'll be asked to set a password and logged in to their account.

If the invite link expires, simply head to the People & Groups area where you can perform useful actions like resetting their password and managing their profile.

Manage users access to projects

Depending on someone’s role; they may automatically be given access to all projects, while others will have to be manually added to projects in order to access them.

For example, the default role of Admin is automatically given access to all projects, while the default role of Editor has to be manually given access to a project.

This is how you choose what projects someone can access:

Go to People and Groups

Under the 'All users' view search for the user, you would like to assign a project(s) to. The select projects drop-down menu.

Select which projects you would like them to access using the checkboxes on the left-hand side

You can select 'Assign projects’ to save your changes. This will immediately grant them access to these projects.

To assign projects to multiple users in one action, use the bulk bar on the bottom of the page. To access this option, select the users you want to manage and click the 'manage projects' icon on the bulk bar.

Create, delete and manage user groups

Every person in your GatherContent account belongs to a group and has a role.

Groups are used to organise your people, and to help you find people more quickly by splitting up a list, i.e. internal teams, external agencies, legal teams, etc.

To add a new group, click 'Create new group', then add a name and click return to save:

To delete or rename a group, click on the 3 dots next to the name of the group and select one of the options:

Click on the name of a group to view which users are included in it.

A person can only belong to one group at a time, but you can easily drag and drop your users between groups to change this.

How to make bulk changes to multiple users

Using the bulk select tool, you can; 

  • Select one or select all users

  • Assign users to projects

  • Assign users to one or multiple projects

  • Change the role of your users

  • Reset the password of one or multiple users

  • Delete one or multiple users

Managing users individually

Each person will have a profile where you can see and edit their role.

By clicking on a users name or the 3 dots shown in the row you can;

  • Delete an individual user

  • Reset the user's password

  • View users individual profiles 

  • Assign users to projects

  • View the recent activity of individual users

Tip: If you have a lot of users in your account, try using the search bar to find them by their user name:

Did this answer your question?