Team members who have access to the content editor can share a link to an item of content from inside the content editor. This now means that you can include non GatherContent users in the creation of your Content, helping you to expedite the process and continue to manage everything within a single platform.

Permissions have been included for shareable links, allowing you to control how the content is viewed by those you share it with.

These include:

To get started, click the Share button.

Enabling the link

The link is automatically enabled when you click the Share button, which allows you to share the link immediately.

You can disable the link at any time to revoke access to the item. Once disabled, anybody you've shared the link with will no longer be able to view the item.

Setting a password

You can set a password to add a layer of security to your link. Setting a password will mean anybody you share the link with will need the password to view the item.

To set a password, toggle this option on. You'll then see a text input, allowing you to enter a password. Once you hit save, the link will then be password protected.

Once a password has been set, you can disable it again by toggling this option off.

Access levels

Shareable links come with a set of predefined levels of access that you can choose from.

Can view

Select this level of access if you only want people with the link to be able to view the content. This level of access does not allow them to see or make comments.

Can comment

This level of access is perfect if you want people to be able to see and make comments on the item.

Note that in all cases, people will not be able to access the comment history of an item from a shareable link, so any resolved comments not be accessible.

Can edit

This is available on Advanced plans only. Select this level of access if you'd like people with the link to be able to view and make comments, and edit the content.

Disabled

This disables the link and prevents people you've shared the link with from being able to view the item.

Add a comment

Adding comments is a perfect way to allow users, viewing items via shareable links, to have conversations by adding comments to items.

When a link has comments enabled…

 … any user with the link will have two ways to add a comment. They can either;

  1. Log into their existing account 
  2. Create a guest account 

Once logged in the user will then be able to start a conversation by adding a new comment or comment on any existing conversations.

Commenting as a guest user

Comments made by a guest user will appear in the same location as a user that is part of a subscribed account. However the comment will appear made by 'Guest user'  but the users comment will appear like this:

Guest users can also subscribe to a conversation, this will send them notifications to their registered email address whenever someone replies to that conversation. But they cannot be *@‘d or @ other users, or be assigned to an item. These feature are only available to users that are part of a subscribed account.

Guest users can resolve their own conversations, but not those of others. Full users can resolve conversations of both guest users and full users, they also have access to the comment history.

Guest users are not able to view the comment history which means all resolved comments, or editable *comments only visible in the comment history will not be accessible to guest users.

________________


*@mentions: If you want to notify your colleagues of your comment, type the @ symbol on your keyboard, and then type your colleagues name. You should see a list of people you can choose from as you type.

*Editable comments only visible in the comment history: When a comment is made it is attached to a mark tag. The mark tag is the yellow highlight that you see attached appear on the text with you make a comment.

If that text is deleted the comment no longer has a mark tag/yellow highlight to attach itself to. As a result those comments will only be visible in the comment history.

As comments will only remain on the item view if it has a mark tag to hang on to. 👍

Content approval

This feature is available to Advanced plans only. Setting “Allow content approval” will mean users who view the shareable link will have the option to approve content with a message from within the shareable link only; content approval cannot be done from within the item editor view.

Once a user has submitted their approval from within the shareable link , they will be able to “Undo approval” if they wish to revoke their approval.

When enabling content approval for an item from within the item editor the user will have the option to set which users shared with the project should receive a notification when an approval is given and when an approval is undone.

Full users with access to the item’s account can see which items have been approved in several ways:

  • Users with access to the Content Hub can filter items by “Approved”
  • Viewing the item from the item editor will show a check mark inside the workflow status. 
  • Viewing the workflow statuses for an item from within the item editor will show that the item is approved for that status as well as who gave the approval.
  • Approvals are recorded within the “Recent activity” feed of a project
  • Approved items are shown on the account dashboard under each project - clicking this link will take you the content hub, filtered by “Approved” items only. 

Approvals are recorded for the workflow status the item was in at the time they were given. When an item moves workflow status approvals given in the previous workflow status are recorded but the item becomes “Unapproved” until an approval is given in its current workflow status.

 

Did this answer your question?