A project could be a number of things: it might be a website, a section of a website, a series of blog posts, an email campaign, or even a book or presentation. You may also want to break a single project into multiple projects in GatherContent. This will allow you to have a custom workflow for different parts of your project.

Create a new project:

Go to your Account Dashboard and click "Start new project"

Tip: If you can’t see this button, it will be because you don't have the 'create projects' permission enable on your role. You can ask your Account Owner to grant you this permission.

Adding people to a project

Depending on roles and permissions, it may be necessary to manually add someone to a project before they can access it.

You can manage your people from the People & Groups area, found by clicking on your people icon.

Select the person you want to add to a project. Then, select the project you want them to access from either list of projects or from the toolbar across the bottom of the page. When you've selected all relevant projects, confirm them by hitting 'assign projects'.

Customising project workflow

Your project workflow is the set of statuses that can be applied to items to communicate their progress.

A project workflow can be unique to every project in your account. It’s like the checkpoints a piece of content needs to go through before it can be considered ready for publishing. You can consider things like SEO, legal reviews, export processes and other stages of content development.

Here’s how you customise your workflow:

  • Open the Workflow tab in one of your projects. This is where you will see your current workflow.

  • You can reorder statuses by dragging the arrows in the middle up and down.

  • To add a new workflow step select the "Create a new status" button. You can also add a status in between others by clicking the small plus symbol between statuses.

  • You can create a name and description for your status by filling in the boxes. We recommend providing as much information as possible in your description to help your stakeholders understand what needs to be done at this step. Adjust to the 'read-only' toggle to lock the status. This means that no one will be able to edit the content of an item while it's at this workflow status.

Tip: If you delete a workflow step, the items in that status will be reverted to 'Draft' or the first status in the workflow.

Create, move, rename and delete folders

Folders form the structure of your sitemap and contain items within your project.

Create a folder

When you create a new project, you'll see a folder with the same name in the sidebar. This represents the top level of your hierarchy.

  • Click or hover on the project folder, and then click the 'Create folder' button.

  • Type the name of the folder, and then click anywhere on the page or press Enter/Return on your keyboard to save. You can add items within a folder, by clicking it in the sidebar, and then clicking 'Create new item'.

Move a folder

To move a folder in the hierarchy, click it in the sidebar and drag it to a new location. The end location will be indicated by a blue line.

To nest a folder, drag it onto another folder. It will then appear nested underneath.

Rename or delete a folder

To rename a folder, click or hover on it in the sidebar and then click the settings menu (three dots). Select 'Rename folder' to rename or 'Move to Trash' to delete.

Using the content map

The content map visually represents a project's hierarchy, as shown on the content hub.

Hover over the name of your project in the left sidebar. Click the settings menu (three dots) and select 'View content map'.

It shows the structure and relationship between items in your project and the current workflow status of an item.

You can collapse and expand any folder in the hierarchy by clicking on it, which will collapse all the items underneath. This allows you to easily view the structure of your project at different levels.

If you click on the arrow in the top right of a folder, you can view a subtree of just that folder branch and its items, which opens in a new tab.

To get back to the project overview, click on the title of the sitemap in the top left of the screen.

Changing the text direction

You can change the text direction in a specific project to make it possible to gather content in different languages. This will only affect the content element fields on your pages, so other interface content will always remain left to right.

The text direction setting is unique to every project and can be changed at any time. This is how you can change the text direction of a project:

  • Go to Project Settings

  • Choose to Change the text direction in this project

Remember to save changes once you've chosen your text direction. This change will take effect immediately but only for this project. It can be changed back at any time.

Renaming your project

You can rename a project after the project has been created. This will update the name that appears in your project dashboard, the first folder in your project, as well as in any emails that are sent to new people in your project.

  • Open the Settings in your project

  • Click 'Update your project name' and remember to save your change when done.

Using the overview tab in your project

You can get a high-level overview of your project's progress by visiting the overview tab. There are several pieces of information shown on this page:

  • Project status

This shows an overview of the project's workflow, and how many items are in each workflow status.

You can click on one of the workflow statuses to take you to the content hub, where the items are.

  • Recent activity

You can also see a stream of all the recent activity, so you can see what's currently happening in the project. The recent activity shown in this list includes high-level activities such as:

  • creating an item

  • trashing an item

  • updating an item's workflow status

Content edits made by team members aren't shown in this list. They exist at the more granular level of the revision history within an item.

  • Items you're assigned to

If you're assigned to any items, they'll appear in a section underneath the 'Project status' information. Click any items under the 'Items you're assigned to' section to open the item and begin editing.

Tip: The project status progress bar only shows the progress of items that you've got access to. If you've got access to all items within a project, the progress bar will reflect that.

Syncing your project with external calendars

You can sync individual project calendars with your own external calendar so that you can keep up to date with upcoming due dates. The synchronisation works with Google Calendar, Apple iCal and Microsoft Outlook calendar.

When syncing a calendar, you will be able to choose whether you want to sync due dates that you are responsible for or due dates for everyone in the project.

Here’s how you go about syncing your calendar:

  • Open the calendar in your project

Each project has it’s own individual calendar, and each calendar will have to be synchronised individually.

  • Click the link at the bottom of the page

  • Customise your sync and confirm

If you are having trouble syncing to the right calendar, you can right-click on the link and choose to copy the link address. This means you can paste the link into your desired calendar to set it up more directly.

  • Set up the options in your calendar

This is what it looks like in iCal. As you can see I’ve chosen to refresh the due dates every 5 minutes, this is recommended to ensure your calendars are kept consistent. We’ve found that Google Calendar can be a bit slow with its refreshing.

Did this answer your question?