Items are the core of your project. This is where content is outlined, gathered, discussed and edited. This article will explain how to create, delete and manage your items.

Adding Items

  • Click on the Content tab, in the main navigation of the content hub

  • Click on a folder in your hierarchy on the left sidebar, to create new items there. An open folder icon indicates which folder you are currently in.

Tip: The top level of your hierarchy is the folder with the same name as your project.

  • Click on 'Create new item'

A new empty item line will appear. You might not be able to see this button if you don't have permission to add items. Type a name for the new item, and either press enter/return on the keyboard, or click anywhere on the page to save it.

Re-order items

You can change the order of the items in your project from the content hub. This allows you to change the item hierarchy in your project.

  • Click and drag an item to a new location.

This can be up or down within a folder, or drag it to a different folder on the left sidebar, to move it to a new location in the hierarchy.

Tip: All changes are automatically saved.

Re-order multiple items

Select the items you'd like to move. They should appear highlighted once selected. You can hold 'Shift' on the keyboard to select multiple items.

Drag the items to a new location. This can be up or down within a folder, or drag it to a different folder on the left sidebar, to move it to a new location in the hierarchy.

Trash items (archive)

When you no longer need to see an item in a project, for example, a blog post a few months after it's been published, you can move the item to the trash. This removes it from the hierarchy of your project, and it removes the people & due dates assigned to an item. The template will be kept ๐Ÿ‘

Trashing an item from the content hub

Select the items you'd like to trash. They should appear highlighted once selected. You can hold 'Shift' on the keyboard to select multiple items.

Tip: If you want to do this for ALL items in a project, click on the 'All items' folder on the left sidebar. Select an item, and then scroll all the way to the bottom of the page. Then click 'Select all' from the toolbar.

From the toolbar at the bottom of the page, select 'Delete items'.

From within the item itself

  • Enter the item you would like to trash

  • Head to the menu in the top-right corner of your screen and select 'Trash item' from the drop-down

Your item will be moved to the Trash folder ๐Ÿ‘

Please note that trashing item(s) will not send any notifications to the people who are unassigned.

Tip: A trashed item does count towards your GatherContent plan limits, the item would need to be permanently deleted from your trash items folder to be removed from counting towards your plan limits.

Restoring a trashed item

You can restore trashed items back to the content hub.

Click the 'Trash items' folder to open it, from the left sidebar.

Select the items you'd like to restore. They should appear highlighted once selected. You can hold 'Shift' on the keyboard to select multiple items.

Tip: If you want to do this for ALL items in the trash, select an item, and then scroll all the way to the bottom of the page. Then click 'Select all' from the toolbar.

From the toolbar at the bottom of the page, select 'Restore items'.

Permanently deleting items

You should note that deleting an item will permanently delete its content, any files uploaded to it, comments and all revisions from our servers: gone!

If youโ€™re sure you want to delete an item, you can do so by following these steps:

  • Click the 'Trash items' folder to open it, from the left sidebar.

  • Select the items you'd like to delete. They should appear highlighted once selected. You can hold 'Shift' on the keyboard to select multiple items.

  • From the toolbar at the bottom of the page, select 'Delete items'.

Be Aware: This is a permanent action, so be wary!

Did this answer your question?