Introduction

GatherContent is a tool that allows you to create, organise and collaborate on content. 

Here's the basics of how to navigate around GatherContent:

As a reviewer, you'll need to know a few specific tasks in more detail. 

👉 Download a PDF version of this guide

Getting around in GatherContent

When you first log in, you'll see projects you have access to on the dashboard:

and inside a project you'll find the items you have access to. Items are the content pieces of a project, so your content will be written inside an item.

You'll find a project's content in the content hub.

Navigating the project hierarchy using folders

The project is made up of folders, which outline the project hierarchy. Click into any folder to open it, and see the items inside.

The folder with the same name of the project is the top level of the hierarchy.

Getting around in an item

Click an item's name to open it. 

If you want to go back to the Content list to open a different item, click the back arrow or the hamburger menu.

What am I reviewing?

You will be able to see which items you are expected to review as you will see your initials next to that item. 

You may also see a due date to let you know when it is expected to be completed by.

Tip: If you see many items, you will be able to filter to only see your own assignments by ticking the 'Only show my assignments' checkbox.

How do I review?

Your team should provide you some guidance on how they want you you use GatherContent to review a piece of content. Some teams only require Reviewers to leave comments and change the workflow status, whereas others require Reviewers to edit the content too.

As the core tasks of a Reviewer, this article will explain how to leave comments and change the workflow status. For how to edit the content, please see the On-boarding guide for content writers.

Add a comment

To add a comment to some text, highlight it. At the right-hand side of the formatting bar that pops-up, you'll see a comment bubble. Click it, and begin typing your comment in the box.

If you want to notify your colleagues of your comment, type the @ symbol on your keyboard, and then type your colleagues name. You should see a list of people you can choose from as you type.

When you're ready, press 'Send' to finalise your comment.

Participate in conversations

When you open an item, any open conversations will be shown on the right-hand side.

Click a comment to open the conversation thread. You can add a reply in the box at the bottom, as above. Be sure to @mention any colleagues in your response, that you want to notify!

After commenting on a conversation you will be automatically subscribed to the thread. You can manually subscribe (or unsubscribe) to conversations by using the subscribe switch at the top of a conversation thread. 

Updating the workflow status

Moving an item to the next workflow status

The workflow in the project describes the content journey, from being created to being published. It contains a group of statuses, which the content moves through while being worked on.

Each item has a workflow status applied to it. Check it at the top of an item, to understand what needs to be done on the item and who needs to do it.

Once you've completed your review, you may need to move it along in the workflow, to the next status. Your team will let you know if this task is required of you in advance.

Click the current workflow status at the top of the item and from the drop-down you can select 'Mark as complete'.

Users who are assigned to the item will automatically be notified of the status change. If you want to let additional people status change you're making, click the bell icon, and then the 'Add people' Icon to search for your colleagues. You can also write a message in the text box.

Then click Notify and complete' against it, to move it onto the next status.

Your email notifications

If you're @mentioned in a comment, you'll see a summary of this in your emails titles 'Recent activity in GatherContent’.

When an item is passed over to you, you may also get a notification saying that somebody else changed the status of an item. If they’ve left you a personalised message you’ll see that too, as in the email below.

What next?

Your team can confirm what 'done' means to you as a reviewer. If you do have any questions, we'd recommend you contact your account owner or the person who invited you for more information.

Did this answer your question?