This article is for the new version of the content editor. 

Assigning people to an item is a good way of letting them know they are responsible for it. People assigned to an item will receive notifications if it is nearing its due date (or if it's overdue), and will by default be selected to be notified when comments are made on the item, or when its status is changed.

Items assigned to someone will be displayed on their project overview page and will be highlighted in the Content tab.

Assigning people to an item 

There are two ways to assign someone to an item:

From in an item

1. From inside the item you want to assign people to, click the People dropdown.

2. Click the add icon to add someone.

3. Search their name in the search box. They should already be added to GatherContent.

4. Click their name to assign them to the item.

From the Content tab

1. Head to the Content tab.

2. Select the checkboxes of the items you want to assign people to.
Tip: if you would like to select multiple items at once, select the first item, hold shift and then select the last item. This will select the everything in between.


3. From the Actions dropdown, select 'Assign People'.

4. Choose the people you want to assign.
5. Click 'Assign' to assign the Item to the people you've selected.

Tip: You can use the search on the top right of the Content tab to find all Items assigned to someone. Type their name into the search bar.

Un-assigning people from an item

There are two ways to remove an assigned person from an item:

  • From in an item
  • From the Content tab (remove multiple assignees)

From in an item

1. From inside the item you want to unassign people from, click the People dropdown.

2. Hover over the name of the person you want to unassign, and click 'Unassign'.

From the Content tab

Here's how you can remove all assignees from multiple items at once:

1. Go to the Content tab

2. Select the items, and from the Actions dropdown, select 'Assign People'.

3. Remove all assignees from selected items

Click on the link to remove all assignees from the selected items. No one will be notified of this change.

Did this answer your question?